Jump to content

Joyner USA
  •  
  • Photo

    SPARK PLUGS FOR TROOPER


    • Please log in to reply
    22 replies to this topic

    #1 stevozz

    stevozz

      Advanced Member

    • Members
    • PipPipPip
    • 89 posts
    • Gender:Male
    • Location:Safford Arizona
    • UTV Brand:2 2009 trooper t-2 & 2009 Viper 1100

    Posted 03 January 2011 - 05:58 PM

    Hi everyone, I hope that everyone had a great time over the holiday season. I see that there are a couple of different spark plugs that you can get for these engines. I know that the original plugs are iridium plugs. I am a ngk man and I see that the ngk iridium #bkr5eix-11 is among the list, would this be the best plug for this engine? what would you guys recomend? Thank you for your time.

    Stevozz


    #2 Kinarfi

    Kinarfi

      Moderator & Electronic Wiz

    • Moderator
    • PipPipPip
    • 1,956 posts
    • Gender:Male
    • Location:P.G. Utah
    • UTV Brand:Joyner, Trooper 2

    Posted 04 January 2011 - 12:07 PM

    Hi everyone, I hope that everyone had a great time over the holiday season. I see that there are a couple of different spark plugs that you can get for these engines. I know that the original plugs are iridium plugs. I am a ngk man and I see that the ngk iridium #bkr5eix-11 is among the list, would this be the best plug for this engine? what would you guys recomend? Thank you for your time.

    Stevozz

    On my Yukon, I got about 100,000 miles before I changed out iridiums, I have changed my Trooper plugs yet, how many miles do you have and how do your plugs look? My self, I'd stay with the iridiums, they don't seem to degrade very quickly, but I just hate changing things until I have too, then I put in what I think will last for ever and ever.
    Kinarfi


    #3 ricksrb

    ricksrb

      Too little time to ride

    • Moderator
    • PipPipPip
    • 1,015 posts
    • Gender:Male
    • Location:Yorba Linda Ca,Lake Havasu Az
    • UTV Brand:Joyner Trooper T4

    Posted 04 January 2011 - 12:44 PM

    Hi everyone, I hope that everyone had a great time over the holiday season. I see that there are a couple of different spark plugs that you can get for these engines. I know that the original plugs are iridium plugs. I am a ngk man and I see that the ngk iridium #bkr5eix-11 is among the list, would this be the best plug for this engine? what would you guys recomend? Thank you for your time.

    Stevozz



    When I was having the cutting out problem I started changing out things in desperation.One of which was the plugs.I did replace them with Iridium and i think they were the NGK.

    Yours,
    Rick
    So Cal/AZ

    #4 plumber

    plumber

      Advanced Member

    • Members
    • PipPipPip
    • 523 posts
    • Gender:Male
    • Location:kentucky

    Posted 04 January 2011 - 06:02 PM

    When I was having the cutting out problem I started changing out things in desperation.One of which was the plugs.I did replace them with Iridium and i think they were the NGK.



    I think mind were Iridium NGK also I think 4.00ea


    #5 rocmoc

    rocmoc

      Super Moderator

    • Moderator
    • PipPipPip
    • 2,583 posts
    • Gender:Male
    • Location:Tucson, AZ / Mexico
    • UTV Brand:'69 Jeep CJ5 & '70 CJ5

    Posted 04 January 2011 - 06:18 PM

    If you are having plug failure I would be looking other places for the cause. Today's plug should last 50,000 miles and I KNOW no one has put that kind of mileage on their Trooper. Can be anything from bad rings & seals to driving & operation style. There is a reason!

    rocmoc n AZ

    rocmoc n AZ/Mexico

    #6 ricksrb

    ricksrb

      Too little time to ride

    • Moderator
    • PipPipPip
    • 1,015 posts
    • Gender:Male
    • Location:Yorba Linda Ca,Lake Havasu Az
    • UTV Brand:Joyner Trooper T4

    Posted 04 January 2011 - 09:43 PM

    If you are having plug failure I would be looking other places for the cause. Today's plug should last 50,000 miles and I KNOW no one has put that kind of mileage on their Trooper. Can be anything from bad rings & seals to driving & operation style. There is a reason!

    rocmoc n AZ


    like i said, i changed mine just looking to resolve the problem i was having.it made no differance and plugs were not the problem,(i could have just wanted an excuse to do something on it)dont tell the wife(LOL)

    Yours,
    Rick
    So Cal/AZ

    #7 Quig

    Quig

      Advanced Member

    • Members
    • PipPipPip
    • 258 posts
    • Gender:Male
    • Location:Twin Falls Id.
    • UTV Brand:joyner

    Posted 04 January 2011 - 10:34 PM

    like i said, i changed mine just looking to resolve the problem i was having.it made no differance and plugs were not the problem,(i could have just wanted an excuse to do something on it)dont tell the wife(LOL)

    I'm coming down, "sometime" and you will have to pay me not to tell your wife!! lmao,, I'm looking for way to pay expenses, think I found it!!! roflmao : )


    #8 stevozz

    stevozz

      Advanced Member

    • Members
    • PipPipPip
    • 89 posts
    • Gender:Male
    • Location:Safford Arizona
    • UTV Brand:2 2009 trooper t-2 & 2009 Viper 1100

    Posted 04 January 2011 - 11:10 PM

    If you are having plug failure I would be looking other places for the cause. Today's plug should last 50,000 miles and I KNOW no one has put that kind of mileage on their Trooper. Can be anything from bad rings & seals to driving & operation style. There is a reason!

    rocmoc n AZ

    No everything is ok I am just asking because I took the plugs out to see how they were burning and I just never heard of a torch spark plug before. I just wanted to know which plug everyone here likes so I can write it down in my log book. Because If I replace any parts I try to get different parts then using china made parts thats all. And I am also a ngk fan. Thank you for your input its always welcome.


    Stevozz


    #9 stevozz

    stevozz

      Advanced Member

    • Members
    • PipPipPip
    • 89 posts
    • Gender:Male
    • Location:Safford Arizona
    • UTV Brand:2 2009 trooper t-2 & 2009 Viper 1100

    Posted 04 January 2011 - 11:20 PM

    On my Yukon, I got about 100,000 miles before I changed out iridiums, I have changed my Trooper plugs yet, how many miles do you have and how do your plugs look? My self, I'd stay with the iridiums, they don't seem to degrade very quickly, but I just hate changing things until I have too, then I put in what I think will last for ever and ever.
    Kinarfi

    Hi Kinarfi how are you? My plugs seem to be burning good, Yes I think when I do replace them they will be ngk iridiums. Do you know if anyone uses mobil 1 fully syn oil in their troopers? If you ever come down to Arizona let me know, we will hook up to do some riding. That goes for everyone, as long as the timing is right. This thing called a job gets in the way sometimes. You take care Kinarfi and have fun on your trooper.

    Stevozz


    #10 stevozz

    stevozz

      Advanced Member

    • Members
    • PipPipPip
    • 89 posts
    • Gender:Male
    • Location:Safford Arizona
    • UTV Brand:2 2009 trooper t-2 & 2009 Viper 1100

    Posted 04 January 2011 - 11:24 PM

    like i said, i changed mine just looking to resolve the problem i was having.it made no differance and plugs were not the problem,(i could have just wanted an excuse to do something on it)dont tell the wife(LOL)

    Hi Rick how are you doing? What was the problem with it cutting out on you?

    Stevozz


    #11 rocmoc

    rocmoc

      Super Moderator

    • Moderator
    • PipPipPip
    • 2,583 posts
    • Gender:Male
    • Location:Tucson, AZ / Mexico
    • UTV Brand:'69 Jeep CJ5 & '70 CJ5

    Posted 05 January 2011 - 06:32 AM

    I use Mobil 1 syn oil in my Trooper. I have ran it in my racecars also with great results.

    rocmoc n AZ

    rocmoc n AZ/Mexico

    #12 ricksrb

    ricksrb

      Too little time to ride

    • Moderator
    • PipPipPip
    • 1,015 posts
    • Gender:Male
    • Location:Yorba Linda Ca,Lake Havasu Az
    • UTV Brand:Joyner Trooper T4

    Posted 05 January 2011 - 06:52 AM

    Hi Rick how are you doing? What was the problem with it cutting out on you?

    Stevozz



    Im doing fine stevoz,I also use mobile 1 in mine.problem was it would just start cutting out as driving.it would not do it all the time and it would not last.I would stop rev her up a few times and it would be fine.sometimes it would do it 3 or 4 times while out for a ride and then again sometimes it would not do it at all.checked wiring,fuel pump,changed fuel filter,regulator,air filter,cleaned fuel tank twice,changed plugs,and still did it.I ended up changing ICU and since then i have had it out 3-4 trips now and no problems.

    Yours,
    Rick
    So Cal/AZ

    #13 Lenny

    Lenny

      Advanced Member

    • Members
    • PipPipPip
    • 1,735 posts
    • Gender:Male
    • Location:Hurricane, UT

    Posted 05 January 2011 - 08:53 AM

    Im doing fine stevoz,I also use mobile 1 in mine.problem was it would just start cutting out as driving.it would not do it all the time and it would not last.I would stop rev her up a few times and it would be fine.sometimes it would do it 3 or 4 times while out for a ride and then again sometimes it would not do it at all.checked wiring,fuel pump,changed fuel filter,regulator,air filter,cleaned fuel tank twice,changed plugs,and still did it.I ended up changing ICU and since then i have had it out 3-4 trips now and no problems.


    I had mine just stop running and then it would run seemed for no reason. Ended up running a groung wire to the computer external cover and fixed it. Discovered it while looking for the problem. just happened to groung the cover while trying it and it started. When I ungrounded it, it wouldn't. I use Mobile 1 15w-50 synthetic also with a larger oil pan, 9 quarts, and a larger oil filter, about twice the size of stock. Oil pressure stays good now.

    Lenny


    #14 stevozz

    stevozz

      Advanced Member

    • Members
    • PipPipPip
    • 89 posts
    • Gender:Male
    • Location:Safford Arizona
    • UTV Brand:2 2009 trooper t-2 & 2009 Viper 1100

    Posted 05 January 2011 - 10:12 AM

    I had mine just stop running and then it would run seemed for no reason. Ended up running a groung wire to the computer external cover and fixed it. Discovered it while looking for the problem. just happened to groung the cover while trying it and it started. When I ungrounded it, it wouldn't. I use Mobile 1 15w-50 synthetic also with a larger oil pan, 9 quarts, and a larger oil filter, about twice the size of stock. Oil pressure stays good now.

    Lenny

    Hi Lenny, about the oil pressure sometimes on a ride I notice that sometimes I stop and leave it idle for alittle bit my oil pressure light flashes and my gauge is low. But that is only sometimes. How accurate are these gauges ? I am not to impressed with them at all. My camo one is doing it and I only have about 550 miles on it. Did you have that problem too?

    Thanks Stevozz


    #15 stevozz

    stevozz

      Advanced Member

    • Members
    • PipPipPip
    • 89 posts
    • Gender:Male
    • Location:Safford Arizona
    • UTV Brand:2 2009 trooper t-2 & 2009 Viper 1100

    Posted 05 January 2011 - 10:16 AM

    Im doing fine stevoz,I also use mobile 1 in mine.problem was it would just start cutting out as driving.it would not do it all the time and it would not last.I would stop rev her up a few times and it would be fine.sometimes it would do it 3 or 4 times while out for a ride and then again sometimes it would not do it at all.checked wiring,fuel pump,changed fuel filter,regulator,air filter,cleaned fuel tank twice,changed plugs,and still did it.I ended up changing ICU and since then i have had it out 3-4 trips now and no problems.

    Glad it wasnt nothing major, but I am sure that you had alot of time into it. Yes I will be running mobil 1 fully syn in mine too, I really belive in fully syn motor oil. I already been putting it in my trans and both diffs.

    Stevozz


    #16 stevozz

    stevozz

      Advanced Member

    • Members
    • PipPipPip
    • 89 posts
    • Gender:Male
    • Location:Safford Arizona
    • UTV Brand:2 2009 trooper t-2 & 2009 Viper 1100

    Posted 05 January 2011 - 10:18 AM

    I use Mobil 1 syn oil in my Trooper. I have ran it in my racecars also with great results.

    rocmoc n AZ

    Hi Rocmoc, how are you? do you also put mobli 1 in your trans and diffs?


    #17 rocmoc

    rocmoc

      Super Moderator

    • Moderator
    • PipPipPip
    • 2,583 posts
    • Gender:Male
    • Location:Tucson, AZ / Mexico
    • UTV Brand:'69 Jeep CJ5 & '70 CJ5

    Posted 05 January 2011 - 10:51 AM

    Hi Rocmoc, how are you? do you also put mobli 1 in your trans and diffs?



    Good morning stevozz,

    Doing better after the bug I had last week.

    I am using Castrol Syntec purchased at Pep Boys. I was using Royal Purple but too expensive. Used it once before the Castrol and I can't tell any diff.

    rocmoc n AZ

    rocmoc n AZ/Mexico

    #18 ricksrb

    ricksrb

      Too little time to ride

    • Moderator
    • PipPipPip
    • 1,015 posts
    • Gender:Male
    • Location:Yorba Linda Ca,Lake Havasu Az
    • UTV Brand:Joyner Trooper T4

    Posted 05 January 2011 - 11:30 AM

    Hi Lenny, about the oil pressure sometimes on a ride I notice that sometimes I stop and leave it idle for alittle bit my oil pressure light flashes and my gauge is low. But that is only sometimes. How accurate are these gauges ? I am not to impressed with them at all. My camo one is doing it and I only have about 550 miles on it. Did you have that problem too?

    Thanks Stevozz


    Mine does the same thing.

    Yours,
    Rick
    So Cal/AZ

    #19 Lenny

    Lenny

      Advanced Member

    • Members
    • PipPipPip
    • 1,735 posts
    • Gender:Male
    • Location:Hurricane, UT

    Posted 05 January 2011 - 11:43 AM

    Hi Lenny, about the oil pressure sometimes on a ride I notice that sometimes I stop and leave it idle for alittle bit my oil pressure light flashes and my gauge is low. But that is only sometimes. How accurate are these gauges ? I am not to impressed with them at all. My camo one is doing it and I only have about 550 miles on it. Did you have that problem too?

    Thanks Stevozz



    The oil just gets too hot. The 2011 Troopers will come with an oil cooler to help. The gauge is probably ok as it shows OK when the engine is cool so it seems to be reading oil pressure. The pressure is just drooping from heat. Some of the others on here have added an oil cooler. You can get an adapter that goes between the engine block and oil filter to run the lines to and from for the cooler. I will also add a cooler when I get to it even though I may not need it anymore. My oil pan is a custom one I made out of aluminum so it disipates a lot of heat quickly. Low oil pressure should be a real concern.

    Lenny


    #20 ricksrb

    ricksrb

      Too little time to ride

    • Moderator
    • PipPipPip
    • 1,015 posts
    • Gender:Male
    • Location:Yorba Linda Ca,Lake Havasu Az
    • UTV Brand:Joyner Trooper T4

    Posted 05 January 2011 - 11:57 AM

    The oil just gets too hot. The 2011 Troopers will come with an oil cooler to help. The gauge is probably ok as it shows OK when the engine is cool so it seems to be reading oil pressure. The pressure is just drooping from heat. Some of the others on here have added an oil cooler. You can get an adapter that goes between the engine block and oil filter to run the lines to and from for the cooler. I will also add a cooler when I get to it even though I may not need it anymore. My oil pan is a custom one I made out of aluminum so it disipates a lot of heat quickly. Low oil pressure should be a real concern.

    Lenny


    Just wondering if anyone has a part number or any info on the adapter.Thanks Lenny

    Yours,
    Rick
    So Cal/AZ




    0 user(s) are reading this topic

    0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users