Jump to content

Joyner USA
  •  
  • Photo

    winch wiring


    • Please log in to reply
    13 replies to this topic

    #1 hot1le

    hot1le

      Member

    • Members
    • PipPip
    • 12 posts
    • Gender:Male
    • Location:ft. riley
    • UTV Brand:joyner

    Posted 24 September 2012 - 12:09 AM

    I noticed in the pictures that my new trooper has been factory wired for a winch. My wife is gonna get me a winch for christmas and I was wondering when the factory wires the trooper up do they put a winch solnoid on it or do I have to wire the one in that come with the winch. It appears that all I will have to do is run a negative and positive wire directly to the posts on the winch. Sorry if this is a dumb question


    #2 plumber

    plumber

      Advanced Member

    • Members
    • PipPipPip
    • 523 posts
    • Gender:Male
    • Location:kentucky

    Posted 24 September 2012 - 05:15 AM

    hot 1le You would have to wire it up to the new solenoid


    #3 nocturnalsixer

    nocturnalsixer

      Advanced Member

    • Members
    • PipPipPip
    • 382 posts
    • Gender:Male
    • Location:Griswold, Iowa
    • UTV Brand:joyner

    Posted 24 September 2012 - 08:03 AM

    Hot1le
    congrats on buying a new trooper!

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2

    Grassroots jack of the trades
    Play hard life is SHORT!

    #4 bigdan120

    bigdan120

      Advanced Member

    • Members
    • PipPipPip
    • 220 posts
    • Gender:Male
    • Location:Pa
    • UTV Brand:Joyner

    Posted 24 September 2012 - 08:53 AM

    Hey Hi there! Congrats on the Trooper...As long as she buys the right winch.....Cause I believe the switch in the dash is pre-wired in the trooper correct? Mine was already on it so I am not sure...I do know that there are 3 wires from the dash switch and I had cut the plug off mine because the cause one of the pins broke so I just hardwired it to a warn using the control box off Chinas winch .. So if you get a say warn or something you will most likely have to cut the plug off out at the end if you want the in dash switch to work the winch. If you are using the remote wire that comes with your new winch one then you will do nothing besides hook up the + - and your done.......I can say that somewhere along the install from the factory the wiring changed in the solenoid box cause I had to reverse the wiring to get mine to run the winch in the right direction ...That was using the winch solenoid set up off the factory China winch...Hope any of this rambling helps you....Guys if any of this is incorrect please let me know....

    2009 Joyner T2 96 KX500

    #5 nocturnalsixer

    nocturnalsixer

      Advanced Member

    • Members
    • PipPipPip
    • 382 posts
    • Gender:Male
    • Location:Griswold, Iowa
    • UTV Brand:joyner

    Posted 24 September 2012 - 08:59 AM

    My factory winch is 3500lb rated i believe because i see the sticker "3500" on winch itself but i plan on using that until it burns out then ill go harbor freight and buy their 5000lb atv winch for $150/200 something then ill remove the factory switch it's nice but also hard to use when you are on your own....so my next winch will have two ways to operate it...wirelessly or wired long reach remote and an switch on dash.
    I had to winch myself out all on my own once it was hell i wished i was that rubber stretchy guy from fantastic four lol
    That's my 2 cents.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2

    Grassroots jack of the trades
    Play hard life is SHORT!

    #6 plumber

    plumber

      Advanced Member

    • Members
    • PipPipPip
    • 523 posts
    • Gender:Male
    • Location:kentucky

    Posted 24 September 2012 - 05:39 PM

    I don't used the switch on the dash I use the wire remote. I have a 4500 lbs on a winch cradle with quick disconnect coupling so I can use it up front or rear


    #7 charlie

    charlie

      Advanced Member

    • Members
    • PipPipPip
    • 534 posts
    • Gender:Male
    • Location:Bourne ma
    • UTV Brand:joyner t2

    Posted 24 September 2012 - 07:17 PM

    Hey I can help factory winch sucks especially if u get real stuck if cant do it!!! I got a champion 4800lb winch from this place called tractor supply. It was 225$ I think with year warranty came with remote with built in solenoid I used factory cables that were prewired on my t2 disconnected factory switch! The winch has a real easy to use free spool lever and came with a pull sash and roller fair leads to keep cable straight while winching. The winch all the way out wich is 40-50 feet with 5 wraps around the barrel is rated for 2500lbs. It's a little over kill but I love it and it works easy and awsome


    #8 nocturnalsixer

    nocturnalsixer

      Advanced Member

    • Members
    • PipPipPip
    • 382 posts
    • Gender:Male
    • Location:Griswold, Iowa
    • UTV Brand:joyner

    Posted 25 September 2012 - 07:25 AM

    Tractor supply co is another great store for agriculture equipment!

    Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 2

    Grassroots jack of the trades
    Play hard life is SHORT!

    #9 nocturnalsixer

    nocturnalsixer

      Advanced Member

    • Members
    • PipPipPip
    • 382 posts
    • Gender:Male
    • Location:Griswold, Iowa
    • UTV Brand:joyner

    Posted 25 September 2012 - 07:28 AM

    I don't used the switch on the dash I use the wire remote. I have a 4500 lbs on a winch cradle with quick disconnect coupling so I can use it up front or rear

    Your cradle plug into rear hitch mount receiver right?
    I'm curious how u mounted the cradle on front? I wanted to do the same thing but I'm not sure how to mount to front other than adding another hitch receiver in front.
    Is that what you did?


    Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 2

    Grassroots jack of the trades
    Play hard life is SHORT!

    #10 charlie

    charlie

      Advanced Member

    • Members
    • PipPipPip
    • 534 posts
    • Gender:Male
    • Location:Bourne ma
    • UTV Brand:joyner t2

    Posted 25 September 2012 - 08:32 AM

    I dont have a hitch reciever in front I had a foctory winch up front behind the plastic peice and the new winch came with a new winch plate bolted that down and added couple tac welds that is if you asking me I think theres a pic in my gallery


    #11 nocturnalsixer

    nocturnalsixer

      Advanced Member

    • Members
    • PipPipPip
    • 382 posts
    • Gender:Male
    • Location:Griswold, Iowa
    • UTV Brand:joyner

    Posted 25 September 2012 - 09:02 AM

    I dont have a hitch reciever in front I had a foctory winch up front behind the plastic peice and the new winch came with a new winch plate bolted that down and added couple tac welds that is if you asking me I think theres a pic in my gallery

    That's same way i have mine set up but mine isn't welded at all and sorry that question was for plumber

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2

    Grassroots jack of the trades
    Play hard life is SHORT!

    #12 plumber

    plumber

      Advanced Member

    • Members
    • PipPipPip
    • 523 posts
    • Gender:Male
    • Location:kentucky

    Posted 25 September 2012 - 04:52 PM

    Your cradle plug into rear hitch mount receiver right?
    I'm curious how u mounted the cradle on front? I wanted to do the same thing but I'm not sure how to mount to front other than adding another hitch receiver in front.
    Is that what you did?


    Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 2

    Yes the winch cradle goes into the back receiver. I also had the winch behind the plastic piece too I took out the old winch and made a 1/2" steel plate that was the same shape as of the steel plate that the winch bolts down to and welded a 2" receiver on it and bolted it down. I ran #4 welding cables to the quick disconnect coupling I used the ANDERSON CONNECTOR 600V KIT SB 175 SERIES 175 AMP 4 GA They work great


    #13 nocturnalsixer

    nocturnalsixer

      Advanced Member

    • Members
    • PipPipPip
    • 382 posts
    • Gender:Male
    • Location:Griswold, Iowa
    • UTV Brand:joyner

    Posted 25 September 2012 - 05:53 PM

    Yes the winch cradle goes into the back receiver. I also had the winch behind the plastic piece too I took out the old winch and made a 1/2" steel plate that was the same shape as of the steel plate that the winch bolts down to and welded a 2" receiver on it and bolted it down. I ran #4 welding cables to the quick disconnect coupling I used the ANDERSON CONNECTOR 600V KIT SB 175 SERIES 175 AMP 4 GA They work great


    Great idea, so now winch stick out of front all the time unless u moved it to rear or took it off right?

    Do it hurt your approach angles with it sticking out if it is sticking out of plastic piece

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2

    Grassroots jack of the trades
    Play hard life is SHORT!

    #14 plumber

    plumber

      Advanced Member

    • Members
    • PipPipPip
    • 523 posts
    • Gender:Male
    • Location:kentucky

    Posted 25 September 2012 - 06:53 PM

    Great idea, so now winch stick out of front all the time unless u moved it to rear or took it off right?

    Do it hurt your approach angles with it sticking out if it is sticking out of plastic piece

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2

    No mine is up high you can look in the gallery and see it or go to ebay motors type in joyner trooper and the blue one with the big winch up front is mine





    0 user(s) are reading this topic

    0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users