Quantcast

How to tow Joyner Sand Viper 1100

abernot

Hello,

First time buggy/UTV buyer here and I have been looking at a 2016 Joyner Sand Viper 1100cc.  

First of all, and overall comments on that particular model or recommendations?  I am a very amateur rider and am just looking to have some occasional fun in the surrounding desert areas of Vegas as well as do some low key canyons and small mountain areas.

Main question is, what are the options to tow the buggy aside from trailering it?  I have been looking into a tow bar but am finding very limited information on anyone installing a way to connect a tow bar to the rig and tow it that way.  Any insights are greatly appreciated!

Never ground tow or flat tow any ATV or UTV with a CVT transmission.  The driven clutch can cause the belt to overheat trying to turn over the engine.  One owner lost his ride because the belt caught fire and fully engulfed the machine.  Put it on a trailer or in the back of a pickup.  Alternately, you can raise the drive axle and place the other axle on dollies.

People who repossess cars use them.  They are wheeled platforms that are placed under the tires of one axle to lift it off the ground so that it can be towed.  If the transmission is in park, for example, they place the dollies under the drive axle so that it can be towed.  Another style that UHaul and others rent (you can buy them, too).  You place the drive axle on the dolly and tow the vehicle with a standard ball hitch.  Google "tow dolly" for more info.

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor