Quantcast

First Time UTV Buyer

Space_Tex

Hello everyone. I’m looking into getting a UTV to mainly use at the hunting lease. Need to be able to haul around gear and decoys and at least one dog kennel. Would also like to use occasionally around the neighborhood (Golf carts and UTVs are allowed in my area). I know I want a 4x4 and don’t necessarily need something that’s gonna go 40-50 mph.  I’m an engineer and enjoy maintaining all me vehicles/ toys so I can give something a once over and notice any glaring defect but I have a few UTV questions  

Is there anything I should watch out for? Any specific questions I need to ask the seller? How many hour/ miles is too many? I want something used but not used up. Anyone feel their UTV has been underpowered- should I get at least a YYY cc engine?

Theres a 2014 Kawasaki Mule 4x4 XC with a nice 5x10 trailer for sale that I’ve been eyeing, anyone have good/bad comments about this particular vehicle?

Thanks!!

I personally would get a Honda Pioneer 500. slightly smaller in size, liquid cooled, 2 up, and room for the dog cage. The Mule is a very good choice as well. I just prefer Liquid cooled and 50". As well as being able to customize the rear to your tastes and/or switch it up when you want something else out back.

• Like 1

I really like the Pioneer. I went and looked at a 2014 mule 610 XC. It needs new brakes, battery and some other minor cosmetic fixes. It also pulled to the right which could be an easy fix but possibly frame damage so that worries me a little. Overall looked like a solid vehicle for $5700 with a 5x10 trailer.