Quantcast

Massimo Buck 400 Check Engine Light

j.fulciniti

Hello Folks - newbie here with my first post so go easy on me.  I picked up a Buck 400 in May 2020 direct from Massimo when they were doing a closeout sale on the 400 models.  I read the reviews and was skeptical. 

We live in a golf cart community  we do not plan any off roading - just some very mild work tasks like hauling firewood / brush etc.  Honestly, all we do is cruise around our neighborhood roads.  I pulled the trigger b/c the price was cheaper than a 2WD lifted golf cart and the Buck  had way more features.

We have a few steep hills and after about 20 - 30 minutes of cruising, my check engine light comes on.  It only happens when we are going up or down one of the hills .  We head straight home and things seem fine the next day.  Light never comes on unless we tackle multiple hills during one ride.

Should I be worried?  

PS - Unit is 4 months old and has 258 miles on it - barely broken in.  I've yet to go full throttle on a flat or up a hill. 

I sent a message to them yesterday and have not heard back yet.    The engine does seem hot.   Doesn't happen all the time but it happens.  I'm sure they'll tell me to take it to the service place which is a PITA.

I'm handy but by no means a mechanic.  My buddy is so when he's in town next week I'll have him take a peek.

1/2 hour (I need to confirm they still service Massimo) but it's the borrow my neighbors trailer, drive out there on Sat, let it sit for XX days and go pick it back up.  That's the PITA factor I'd rather avoid.  I posted in that other thread to get a copy of the service manual.  I'll have my buddy take a peek first.  He can literally fix just about anything.  Oddly, he's an airplane mechanic by trade but works on cars, boats, etc 

Welcome to the forum!